RClone-Wasabi-Veeam - Where to Start

Hey guys. I am a VMWare admin for a school system. We are looking at using Veeam to backup our VMs off site as well as our on site locations. We are leaning toward using Wasabi as that cloud solution, but I was informed the best way to utilize Wasabi was to use RClone as the service in the middle. Has anyone done this? Can you give me some insight as to how you have it setup? One other school said they have the same setup and use RClone on a linux server. What version of linux?

Any insight would be appreciated. Thanks!

hello, i can help you,

i use veeam, rclone and wasabi but on microsoft windows.
rclone works the same on windows and linux.

perhaps i am wrong but i thought that Veeam Backup and Replication runs on windows, not linux?
if true, why do you want to install rclone on linux instead of windows?

i use hyper-v, not vmware, but that should not matter much at all.

i run my virtual machines on Microsoft Hyper-V Server (free hypervisor)

i run VBAR on Microsoft Hyper-V Server (free hypervisor)

so ask me your questions...

Veeam is on Windows. The school I talked to said they spun up a linux server specifically for rclone software.

My understanding is you would use rclone to wasabi instead of veeam directly to because of the way it can be restored? I'm actually not too sure what purpose rclone has in this setup.

that depends on which version of VBAR you are using, as some version do not have ability to backup to s3 compatible storage.
i use the free version of VBAR.

not sure why you would need to add a linux server?

what edition of VBAR are you running, community, standard, enterprise or enterprise plus?

where is your VBAR backup repository stored and what is the operating system of the server?

I'm not using VBAR. I'm actually not sure what it stands for. But we are 100% vmware based here. We use Veeam enterprise.

veeam enterprise, do you mean Veeam Backup And Replication, VBAR enterprise edition?