Rclone Samba share problem. Can't write to drive

Hi,

I'm quite new to Rclone but I used the wonderful guide by spaceinvader on youtube to setup rclone on my unraid box

unfortunately, i have one problem. I can't seem to write to any of the gdrive rclone shares from windows (through smb)

I just get the "you need permission to perform this action"

I've noticed a few others (threads below) on this forum have had a similar issue.

Unfortunately, I cannot understand the solutions provided as I'm quite a noob when it comes to rclone aside from the youtube video I used so can anyone provide some context for me?

For instace, in the first thread, the solution given is to add '--umask 000' into the mount. Where can I find the 'mount'?

I've followed the video tutorial exactly as above so apologies for any naivity.

Thanks

Adam

I use an Ubuntu Server to provide the the interface to the rclone mounts.

In my case, I have my server use the rclone mount command and then share the mount point via Samba - it is a two step process.

Can you verify that you can write to the mount from the unraid box? If so, then we need to check the Samba settings.

As far as Samba goes, it has been a while since I configured this, but I have the following in my /etc/samba/smb.conf:

[b2]
path = /path/to/mount/point
browseable = yes
writable = yes
guest ok = yes
read only = no
force user = root
force group = root

The key for me was the force user/group commands. This is absolutely not the right way to handle this, but it worked for me and I've got additional security.

I can write to the server directly from the unraid box no problem.

I'm pretty sure the issue is something to do with samba but I am not sure what. In the youtube tutorial (linked below) that I used to setup rclone, the author provided a samba configuration file which looks like the below:

[gdrive-cloud]
path = /mnt/disks/gdrive
comment =
browseable = yes
# Public
public = yes
writeable = yes
vfs objects =