Out of memory: error killed process

Hi guys! This is my first time here. I hope everyone is doing well.
I currently have a VPS where Jellyfin personal is running (for those who don't know, it's a Plex-style tool, a service to create my own home Netflix).

I'm starting to use rclone with S3-compatible storage to set it up as a directory for metadata (images, movie synopses, actor images, etc.) which currently, for about 160 movies and 5 series, all metadata takes up nearly 600 MB.

My VPS has 2 GB of RAM and I added some swap memory.

The problem is with rclone. As I've noticed, rclone uses RAM when migrating files. However, I'm not actually performing a migration, so that out of memory error would occur regardless.

The process that gives me an error is when I scan the library and save metadata. In this process, images of added movies, their synopses, relevant info, as well as their actors' info, are obtained.

So, every time I upload a large amount of content or analyze the entire library and replace all existing metadata, is when the error occurs precisely because I don't have enough RAM, and I would like it not to consume so much for intensive processes.

I would appreciate any help you could provide with this since I don't know what parameters to use when running the rclone mount command to prevent this error.

Currently, the parameters I was using were --s3-chunk-size 5M and --s3-upload-concurrency 1, and I also tried the speed limit one.

Unfortunately, none of that worked for me. I would appreciate any help you could provide.

Thank you very much.

welcome to the forum,

not sure what you mean?

might test
--transfers=1 --vfs-read-chunk-size=5M --vfs-read-chunk-size-limit=0 --use-mmap --buffer-size=0

when you posted, there was a template of questions for you to answer.
help us to help you and please answer all of them?

1 Like