--log-file and --stats simultaneously

Is it possible to have output to the screen and simultaneously to the log file?

I ask because if I use the output to log file I lose track of what is being done by the screen.

And if I do not use the output to the log file,I can follow the screen, but I lose the record of what was executed (the log file).

Am I missing any obvious setup?

1 Like

Erm, no, that isn’t possible right now!

What I normally do is use tee

rclone stuff | tee rclone.log

which will put stuff to the screen and to the log

Does that help?

I didn’t know this tee (I have little experience with unix), I’ll take a look. Thank you!

I tried running this command: rclone -v move --transfers=1 --bwlimit 50M “E:\Stuff” “gdrive:Folder” | tee “C:\RCLogs\rclone.log”, but the command error’d out saying that the tee command was not recognized. I’m running version rclone v1.38-031-gef134660.

I guess you are using windows which doesn’t have tee by default. You can get one from msys2 however that is quite a learning curve in my experience.

I agree. It does look like a learning curve. I am running rclone on Windows 10. Sorry I didn’t specify. Do you have an alternative command or suggestion that I can run to where I can get the output to a log file and print to the command prompt screen? Thank you for the help!

According to a bit of searching PowerShell has a tee command which works just like the unix utility - that should be quite easy to use with only PowerShell to install.

Awesome! I am a little familiar with Powershell. I will give this a whirl. Thank you again!

1 Like

What about now? Is it possible to use –log-file and –stats simultaneously on Windows 10?

When I do this in powershell:

rclone sync --dry-run "src" "remote":"folder" --log-level INFO --delete-after --copy-links | tee "C:\Users\user\Desktop\My Documents\log.log"

I get this error: Command sync needs 2 arguments maximum