Laptop backup to local network drive

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I'm new to rclone and can't quite seem to find the answer to my question, as it's more qualitative and technical (as of yet).

My goal is to replace my mac's Time Machine (which I currently use with a usb drive that I plugged into my mac) with a similar backup system to an exfat SSD drive plugged into my pi, on my lan. The idea being to back up my entire laptop with incremental backups, where only modified files are copied. Question: is rclone the right tool for this?

I read something about --backup-dir (including here), so I think this is technically feasible (although I have not quite figured out the syntax to select the ssd in question), but I also welcome input regarding the appropriateness of rclone itself -- is there a more appropriate tool for this? (the reason I do not want to stick to time machine for this is that I will be moving away from mac in the future).

Thanks!

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

rclone v1.66.0

• os/version: darwin 14.4 (64 bit)
  • os/kernel: 23.4.0 (x86_64)
  • os/type: darwin
  • os/arch: amd64
  • go/version: go1.22.1
  • go/linking: dynamic
  • go/tags: cmount

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

SSD drive on raspberry pi on local network

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

N/A

Please run 'rclone config redacted' and share the full output. If you get command not found, please make sure to update rclone.

N/A

A log from the command that you were trying to run with the -vv flag

N/A

No. rclone is not a backup solution. It can be used to build such but it requires much more than simple commands it has to offer.

It lacks deduplication, compression and delta backups other programs support out of the box.

It is very crude way to use it for simple backup purposes. There are much better options available.