Using unraid server as a backend

Hi,

First off, apologies if this has already been written about. Most of my searches are dominated by using rclone ON an unraid server. However, this post is specifically about using an unraid server as an rclone backend (so other servers can sync to it).

I am relatively new to unraid, however I have previously used rclone and would like to continue using it.

So far I have found two potential solutions to this problem:

1. Use tailscale to connect to put the unraid server and the syncing server on the same "network". Then use an SMB share as the rclone backend.
  2. Use Minio on unraid server to setup an s3 like public endpoint for syncing. (Or maybe I can still use tailscale to make this non-public)

Option 1 seems to be the simplest approach from me, especially considering tailscale helps me avoid port forwarding and the like. But looking at the backend overview, it seems like SMB is missing some features that the backend I currently use (gdrive) has. I don't know how big a deal that is, but something I'm hesitant about since I'd love to just stick with my current rclone configuration and just switch backends.

Option 2 Seems like it would have all the features I'm used to, however I'm not sure if there are any other negative performance consequences of using Minio as an intermediary layer.

Keen to hear advice from anyone who has experience with setting up storage servers.

rclone does not offer smb as storage system. does not have rclone serve smb.

option 1 is the best:

• unraid, like any linux server, has samba, sftp, etc...
  • the files are in their original state, can be accessed by any client/server/backup.tool

minio uses s3 as its storage system.
rclone has great support for s3.

Am I misunderstanding what this page is claiming?