Usecase of rclone rc, --rc, and rcd

I am new in rclone. I am working in a project to move files from several servers to a cloud storage.
Approach 1: I can do this by rclone copy command.

Approach 2: But the architect of the solution asked us to use rclone RC (remote control).
As I understood so far using rclone RC, I have to run rclone rcd command in each of the servers, then running rclone rc sync/copy. Am I right?

Would you please tell me what is the difference between these 2 approaches (rclone copy vs rclone rc sync/copy)? and why the architect persist to use rclone RC

Thanks for the help

The difference is that if you run rclone yourself then you make a new instance of rclone that is independent of any other rclone instance.

When you use RC (remote control) then you are sending a command to an already running rclone and just asking it to do the task for you in addition to any other tasks it may be doing.

Doing it all in one place rather than in many independent processes has many benefits in a multi-user environment - in security, integrity, efficiency and more. It's probably one or more of these spesific reasons your admin wants you do do this because it would create big headaches for him otherwise.

Also of course, RC can receive the commands from a remote location so you don't need to pull all the data to your machine (potentially though a slower pipeand unnecessarily congesting the network) and then send it out from there. Obviously it's ideal if the server can do that on it's own and not have your workstation as part of the process.

1 Like

Thanks for the prompt reply. It make scene. However I have 2 more questions:
1-Using rclone RC means that I should keep 'rclone rcd' command running on all servers, so I can remotely send rclone command to each server. Am I right? if yes this means trying to get access to about 100 servers which are globally scattered. This is another problem

2- what is the difference between --rc flag and rcd command?
Thank you