Transfer from Google Drive A to Google Drive B and include versioning of Google Docs

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I am trying to transfer (copy) many folders and files (perhaps 100GB) from my private Google Drive account to my business Google Workspace account. I managed this so far with a test sample. I managed it also to keep the original native Google Docs / Google Sheets file type (not converting to DOCX, XLSX) which is great. I am completely new to rclone and happy what I reached so far in one day, but one feature is missing for me and I didn't find direct instructions about this.

I want to keep the entire version history of Google Docs etc. I learned there is also a versioning of non-Google files which is handled differently, e.g., PDFs that works differently with Google Drive.

I found an external tool to do that (https://movefiles.app/) which keeps the versioning of Google Docs, Google Sheetc, but I am trying to get this done with rclone

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

rclone v1.62.2

• os/version: darwin 13.2.1 (64 bit)
  • os/kernel: 22.3.0 (arm64)
  • os/type: darwin
  • os/arch: arm64 (ARMv8 compatible)
  • go/version: go1.20.2
  • go/linking: dynamic
  • go/tags: cmount

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

Google Drive

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

rclone copy gd-raabmar:/transfer  gd-raabauke:/testtarget -P --drive-server-side-across-configs --fast-list

The rclone config contents with secrets removed.

Current remotes:

Name                 Type
====                 ====
gd-raabauke          drive
gd-raabmar           drive

A log from the command with the -vv flag

not ready yet to make this available for the public just yet (should not be related to my question)

I don't think rclone supports this at the moment.

I was hoping this would be easy with the server side copy API but there is no mention of versions here