Total noob windows

First time trying to use this. I am on windows 10, downloaded the file but have no idea how to even run this to get into config. Been searching the web and cant find anything relevant to begin using it. How do I run this?

Everywhere on the web says rclone is amazing…help me enjoy this!

Thanks

You have to unzip the file, then open a cmd window. You run rclone from the cmd window.

cmd> c:\path\to\rclone.exe help

Hopefully that is enough info for you to get going…

1 Like

like ncw indicated above it’s pretty straight forward. I just started using it myself

I created a “rclone” folder in my C: and extracted rclone there.
Next I add rclone to my System Path to make it easy to run form anywhere without having to know/type the full path to the executable app. A good tutorial here just substitute rclone for adb: http://www.howtogeek.com/118594/how-to-edit-your-system-path-for-easy-command-line-access/

See here for setting up your remotes: http://rclone.org/docs/
You can learn all the commands needed to run rclone here: http://rclone.org/commands/

Good luck.

Thank you! System path will make it much easier.

Thanks for the help! With a lil tinkering I am now basking in the glory of rclone! This is much faster than using google drives options.

I added google drive and ACD as remotes. Am I able to transfer between them with rclone?

Someone can correct me if I’m off but from my reading the way this is handled is by rclone downloading/caching the files to your PC then re-uploading to the new remote. This is all done in cache though so it doesn’t take space on your PC. ACD ----> PC Cache ------> Gdrive. It’ll only go as fast as your connection can go.

It’ll be practically the same if you want to encrypt data that is already on a remote.
ACD un-encrypted -----> PC Cache ----> ACD encrypted.