Syncing network mounted filesystem from windows to google drive

I have a samba share mounted as a z: drive on my win10 system and am interested in syncing contents of some of the folders on z: to a folder on google drive.

I have google drive configured and working with rclone 1.45. I can ls and I was able to do a

rclone copy c:\users\Deadcalm\Music remoteg:backups

but when I try

rclone copy z:\shared_documents remoteg:backups I get an error that the source directory cannot be found.

Should this work, or is there an implicit issue with syncing a network share in this manner?
Is there any way around this?

update:

I’ve created a symbolic link to a local folder like…

mklink /d c:\Users\Deadcalm\backups\shared_documents \192.168.0.100\Disk0\shared_documents

then tried…

rclone copy c:\Users\Deadcalm\backups\shared_documents remoteg:backups

and was error’d with “use -L” so I did and it’s chugging along happily copying the folder.

It should work with shared drives…

Can you try rclone lsf z:, rclone lsf z:\ and rclone lsf z:\shared_documents do any of those work? is the directory called exactly “shared_documents” or could it be in a different case?

So all three commands with z:, z:\ and z:\shared_documents result in the same source directory not found error. I tried with upper case z in the first two also with the same result.

I am able to do rclone lsf \192.168.0.100\Disk0 successfully, so it does appear to work on the shared drive, just not with the drive letter windows is using. Odd.

Odd indeed. Can you please make a new issue on github about this. I don’t promise a speedy fix but someone else reported this so I can collect reports in the same place.

Can you put a link to the forum thread too please.

ok…was logging the issue on github when I think I figured out the problem, thought I don’t totally understand it…