Sync to remote only, can I cache remote file metadata only?

Hi,

I'm new to rclone. I've searched the forum and google, hoping somebody can help.

I've set up a mail server that saves each email to a file, and I want an offsite backup of the folders and email files. I have a Backblaze account and just set up another bucket on that.

So far, so good. I plan to run the sync between the email folder and the Backblaze bucket periodically (say hourly atm), but looking at the verbose output, rsync requests a list of the files at the server which returns a lot more info than just faith/file, size and modified, for all files.

the issue I know I'm going to run into is one of volume of files. I have many email accounts I am going to migrate to this server, some I have had for over a decade. There is easily 200,000 emails (therefore files) which I will want to keep in sync, and asking for these 200k files each hour is gonna be inefficient and just going to get worse.

As this is a one way sync (I will never touch the files in the b2 bucket, and if I did, I own it was my fault if something is missed!), is there a way to configure a local cache of file info already in the bucket?

By cache, I just mean meta data without actually having a cache of the files, otherwise I will have the files, the cache of files, and the remote files. Not what I am looking for!

I saw there were --cache-remote and also --cache-db-path, but suspect this is part of file caching, not meta data caching?

Can anybody throw any light on whether what I am trying to achieve is possible??

Many thanks!

1 Like

You want the --no-traverse flag for copying a small number of files to a place where there are many files. I think that should fix your problem.

If I specify --no-traverse, how will it know which of the local 200k files to copy to the destination? There will be several hundred new files per day...?

Thanks