Security concern with config on the fly

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

This is a continuation of the post on April (it's closed by the system so I had to open a new one): https://forum.rclone.org/t/auto-config-file-write/30032

I want to use rclone to mount a Google Drive with a script stored on a USB disk which will be removed immediately after the script is executed.
With help of ncw and asdffdsa, I found that making the config on the fly could be the solution.

I tried to mount my Google Drive this way and everything works fine.

While before I am going to use this method, I have some security concerns.
To my understanding, it's going to expose some sensitive info, e.g. client secret and sa credential, to shell environment variable.

I am not a coder so I don't have comprehensive understanding of how shell works.
Therefore, could anyone tell me would this really causes security issues, and is there any way to fix/improve this?

Thanks in advance!

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

rclone v1.58.1
- os/version: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro for Workstations 21H2 (64 bit)
- os/kernel: 10.0.19044.1682 (x86_64)
- os/type: windows
- os/arch: amd64
- go/version: go1.17.9
- go/linking: dynamic
- go/tags: cmount

Which cloud storage system are you using?

Google Drive

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_TYPE=drive
@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_SCOPE=drive

@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_CLIENT_ID=apiid
@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_CLIENT_SECRET=apisecret

@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_ROOT_FOLDER_ID=folderid

@set RCLONE_CONFIG_GDONFLY_SERVICE_ACCOUNT_CREDENTIALS={sascredentials}

rclone mount gdonfly: Q: -vv

that is going to be a problem, as it is easy to view the environment variables of any process.

what is wrong with using an encrypted rclone config file and manually typing in a password when running rclone mount