Rclone VFS cache maximum size per file

Hello, I've been using rclone for many years, but this is my first time on the forums. I apologize if this has already been requested.

Problem: Gdrive API limits prevent mass transferring of many small files. This limit is not noticed on large files as they take a while to transfer anyway.

I am hoping for a flag to set the max file size that VFS caches long-term, or set alternative cache times for differing size files. This way, the cache can be solely dedicated to small files, creating an overall better experience.

For example, if I can limit VFS to only cache files below 10MB, my cache will fill up much slower without impacting performance on large files much.

I'm curious to hear your feedback :slight_smile:

1 Like

There has been some discussion about strategies for working out which files rclone should keep in the cache and which files rclone should delete.

I think this is the same request: VFS Cache: control caching of files by size · Issue #4110 · rclone/rclone · GitHub

There is also another thread I can't find about using a different strategy for caching based on other parameters other than just least recently used.

I have a nice paper somewhere about a a better strategy, but there is an overview here of lots of different policies: Cache replacement policies - Wikipedia . Currently rclone uses LRU

Ah I see, my apologies!

I think him and I definitely had the same purpose, except he stated it a lot more eloquently than me :laughing:
The --vfs-cache-file-max-size and vfs-cache-file-min-size sounds like a great idea to me.

I think different caching algorithms are a lot more complex than this though (unless there was a term for this specific purpose). LRU is fine; I am just attempting to solve the issue with gdrive API limits on many small files.