Rclone sync on OneDrive causes local leak of files

Hi! I am new to Rclone, and found it as a way to sync with a remote MS OneDrive folder. It works wonders, except for files leaked into the local OneDrive folder similarly randomly, which I'm not able to track down. I'd welcome any suggestion to debug this, I don't even know where to start.

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

• I basically followed the instructions here to setup my OneDrive account. It works well, I can mount the OneDrive remote account into /home/mathieu/Public/OneDrive/.

• My rclone script looks like:

rclone sync /home/mathieu onedrive:backup_home/
    --exclude "/Music/"
    --exclude "/Pictures/
    "
    --exclude "/Public/"
    --exclude "/Downloads/temp
    "
    --exclude "/Downloads/tmp**"
    --progress
    --verbose
    --links
    --delete-during

(I have removed a bunch of --exclude of the same form, see full script below)

• The sync starts well, files are copied on the remote OneDrive the way I expect, and I can check on the OneDrive account that it works. The sync should be around 110–120 GB.
  • However, every now and then, rclone will start copying many (all?) files locally in /home/mathieu/Public/OneDrive/ until my hard drive is full (for instance, I currently have about 70 GB free on a 200 GB HD). I then need to delete the duplicated files (with sudo rm -r /home/mathieu/Public/OneDrive/home/ because some of the copied content is owned by root).
  • Oddly, the script goes on as if nothing happened, and keep copying to the remote.

What is your rclone version (output from rclone version)

rclone v1.50.2
- os/arch: linux/amd64
- go version: go1.13.6

Which OS you are using and how many bits (eg Windows 7, 64 bit)

Debian GNU/Linux 9.5 (stretch) [64 bit].

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

Microsoft OneDrive.

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

rclone sync /home/mathieu onedrive:backup_home/ \