Rclone OAuth Implemented Incorrectly. Exposes Client Secrets?

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I am investigating the possibility of enabling Rclone OneDrive for an organization. In doing so, I've been reading and trying to better understand the OAuth Implementation. I became confused by how Rclone appears to be handling the Remote configuration for obtaining a token from Microsoft Azure AD. I may be misunderstanding something, but it appears Rclone is handling its OAuth implementation incorrectly, lending users to expose their (Application) client secret(s).

Please correct me if I am misunderstanding something, because I am just learning about this I may be wrong. Also, I really want to include some links in this post to some references (Rclone documentation & Okta (OAuth) documentation, but I am apparently not allowed to post links :cry:

EDIT 1 I have now including links within context.
EDIT 2 I have found this older post referencing basically the same sort of issue (Is there anyway to handle this more permanently so refresh tokens can be obtained?): Best practice for keeping OAuth2 client_secret confidential

1. Rclone is implementing their application as a "Web App" or in-terms of OAuth is considered a "Confidential Client". Confidential Clients require to register a client_id and a client_secret with an Authorization server.

Confidential clients are applications that are able to securely authenticate with the authorization server, for example being able to keep their registered client secret safe.

Public clients are unable to use registered client secrets, such as applications running in a browser or on a mobile device.

Why is Rclone implementing their application this way? It seems that rclone is actually a "Native App" or "Public Client" because it is storing the client_secret locally in a config file and is not able to keep this secret secure.