Rclone mount cache seems to be rebuilt despite being present?

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

Hello rclone community,

I am new to rclone and hoping you could help me with my particular challenge.

We have an S3 bucket in AWS that we would like to mount (and have read-only access) on an AWS AppStream image on Windows Server 2019.

Just to clarify, the mounting of S3 bucket does work. The only thing is that, the first time it tries to access the S3 bucket (and launch our application which is stored in the S3 bucket), it does take between 8-10s. But subsequent launches are quick to do. I suppose this is expected because the first time round, it will try to build the cache (and we're getting the 8-10s hit), whereas for subsequent launches, it would read from the cache, and the application launches almost immediately.

Coming onto my challenge.. What I would like to do is to reduce the wait time for the cache to be built everytime a new appstream session starts. AWS Appstream have a concept of application persistence where the user profile is stored on a VHD (and mounted on the appstream session). Noting that an appstream instance would always be started from a golden image (in our case, a vanilla windows 2019 image), if we were to store the cache in e.g. c:\temp, that would always need rebuilding everytime a new appstream instance is started (because the golden image wouldn't have this). However, since we enable application persistence, we could store it under C:\Users\PhotonUser\AppData\Local\rclone (i.e. the mounted VHD), so this will persist onto the next appstream instance (if the current instance is terminated).