rClone Crashing Internet

Hi all, I am new to using rClone for backing up to an external site, and am running into some issues I hope you can help with, I am trying to sync to Backblaze B2, and every time I start the sync my internet connection drops immediately. I have a pfSense firewall in front of it, and have tried setting a bandwidth limit via the rClone CLI, I have a 5mpbs upload speed, and have set the flag --bwlimit 225, and this allows my connection to stay up at times, but when it starts a new file I have observed the VM running rClone (this is the only thing that VM does) jumping way up and using more bandwidth than I allocated via the bwlimit flag, and crashes my internet connection for a few minutes or so. I attempted to set a limit on the pfSense itself instead, but anytime I run rClone with that limiter in place it connects, uploads 3-4% of my files, then the speed dwindles down to 0 and never picks up again. Just trying to find some guidance, see if anybody has any idea what might be causing rClone to crash my internet, and why it still kicks up past my bwlimit on occasion, and brings down my connection again.

Thanks so much in advance!

This isn’t the first report of rclone crashing people’s router I have seen. Rclone uses the internet connection quite aggressively. Hopefully you can get a firmware update for your router - that should fix it.

1 Like

It is a pfSense firewall, that is fully updated, unfortunately I doubt that is the issue, it is a pretty bulletproof firewall