Rclone and duplicity?

This is just an usage query.

I'm thinking about combining duplicity and rclone.
Duplicity can't deal with google teams drives, so I was thinking maybe mounting the drive with rclone and then, let duplicity do its thing.
How viable is this? In the past, I tried with ocamlfuse with horrible upload speeds, disconnections and huge cache occupation.

hello and weclome to the forum,

i use veeam to backup my computers and servers to a local backup server
after each backup completes, on the backup server, i run rclone sync to wasabi.

why do you need to mount the google drive?

Because maybe I don't have spare space to keep the backup and the original data

@thestigma, you have experience with mounts, perhaps you can help this new forum member?

In theory this should work fine via a mount.
It comes down to a few details about how duplicity works though (of which I have no experience).

Most importantly, it has to be able to work on the file-level (as opposed to block-level or disk-level).
If the program outputs files rather than internally modifying existing ones then it's file-level and should thus work with rclone and mount. I see that it is intended to be used with various cloud services, so that is a very strong sign that it is file-based (as that will be required for almost any cloud-storage backend).

You will certainly want to use --vfs-cache-mode writes on the mount however, as this is the only way to get full compatibility with any calls that may come from an OS.