Problems trying to build rclone from source: errors in the ftp backend

Hello everyone,

After a long time since I did it last (in 2016 or so), I'm again trying to build rclone from source.

What I did is to create an Ubuntu 20.04 VM, update it fully, manually install Golang 1.17.5 (not forgetting to set PATH, GOPATH, etc -- it's working OK, at least well enough to compile and run HelloWorld.go) and then pull rclone and its dependencies with go get, but this results in (AFAICS, I'm no Golang expert) in syntax errors in rclone's ftp backend:

$ go get github.com/rclone/rclone/...
[... long list of progress messages omitted  ...] 
go get: installing executables with 'go get' in module mode is deprecated.
        Use 'go install pkg@version' instead.
        For more information, see https://golang.org/doc/go-get-install-deprecation
        or run 'go help get' or 'go help install'.
# github.com/rclone/rclone/backend/ftp
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:331:33: undefined: ftp.DialWithShutTimeout
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:334:33: undefined: ftp.DialWithWritingMDTM
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:507:16: c.IsGetTimeSupported undefined (type *ftp.ServerConn has no field or method IsGetTimeSupported)
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:508:16: c.IsSetTimeSupported undefined (type *ftp.ServerConn has no field or method IsSetTimeSupported)
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:509:16: c.IsTimePreciseInList undefined (type *ftp.ServerConn has no field or method IsTimePreciseInList)
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:999:21: c.GetTime undefined (type *ftp.ServerConn has no field or method GetTime)
REDACTED/pkg/mod/github.com/rclone/rclone@v1.57.0/backend/ftp/ftp.go:1022:9: c.SetTime undefined (type *ftp.ServerConn has no field or method SetTime)

$