Plex + Rclone > Cache or not to Cache?

Hi All,

First post here after reading thread after thread to help me optimize rclone with my Plex setup I have a question that I hope can be cleared up, below is a brief overview of my setup.

My current setup is below

Hetzner Dedicated Server
Intel Xeon E3-1245
16 GB RAM
Windows Server 2019 (I'm a Windows guy!)

rclone v1.51.0

• os/arch: windows/amd64
  • go version: go1.13.7

I have been using this server for a few years now and had no issues with using Plex able to have 10+ concurrent streams with no issues!

However after a drive failure I took the decision not to replace the drive and move the remainder of my media to GSuite and started using rclone, I know that most aspects of Rclone on Windows is experimental however Windows was the only OS I could initially get Intel Quick Sync to work on to assist with HW transcoding and I use Windows servers day in day out in my job!

I have a relatively small media library <10TB which I am in the process of moving to Gsuite. (700GB a day)

I have had rclone setup using the following mounting commands to cache and stream the media, the cache helped with plex scanning after the initial scan

`start c:\rclone\rclone.exe mount --allow-other --allow-non-empty --cache-db-path D:\Rclone\Cache\ --cache-chunk-path D:\Rclone\Cache\ --cache-chunk-total-size 250G --buffer-size 32M --use-mmap --dir-cache-time 72h --drive-chunk-size 16M  --timeout 1h  --vfs-cache-mode minimal --vfs-read-chunk-size 128M --vfs-read-chunk-size-limit 1G gcache: X:`

I decided to allow a cache of up to 250GB as without it plex media scans when moving items from attached drive to Gdrive would take hours as it would scan the whole library and this seemed to help!

I have since found out I can mount my gdrive and leave the cache out the equation, I gave this ago my mount command currently is

rclone.exe mount gdrive:/ X: