Partial File Acces in Google Drive

Hello,
I am relatively new to rclone and I am wondering how a file would be accessed if only part of it is needed?

Let's say I have a video file on google drive and I have it mounted in rclone and then play it trough plex.

As far as I understood the whole file will be downloaded as soon as any part of it is requested by the operation system or any programm. Is that correct? So does it mean I can only "jump" to another Part of the video after rclone has fully downloaded it?

Will the behavior change if I use the cache backend (I heard it's not recommended anymore) or crypt or VFS-cache?

If you don't use --vfs-cache-mode full then rclone will only download the parts needed of the file.

What is your mount command line?

Thank you for the fast reply! I am still in the conception phase, so I don't have a command line - I am trying to understand the system first.

First of all, thank you for confirming this is possible. I actually want to have the opposite for my other usecase.

What I am trying to do: I want to store my less popular torrent content on an encrypted Google drive and seed it long term. Judging from your answer I would assume that each requested piece makes an API Call to google and I would quickly get banned. I am actually doing it at the moment on my local computer with Google Filestream and get 403 banned by google multiple times per week.

What I came up with, was using the cache back end an set a very high limit for cache size like:

RCLONE_CACHE_CHUNK_TOTAL_SIZE = 1500G

This way I would create very little API Calls with google but only if the whole file was downloaded as soon as the first piece is requested and not all the pieces individually. Or at least the requests should be way bigger then the average piece size to download multiple pieces at once.