Newbie help with mounting gdrive

Hey all im very new to rclone and Linux in general so please explain as if im a total newbie :slight_smile:

Ok i have managed to install rclone and also sync to goggle drive, i have not worked out how to auto sync yet.

My question is how do i mount gdrive. Im doing the following

rclone mount googledrive:backup /home/judgey --allow-non-empty --daemon

It seems to load without errors but where is the mount so i can use gdrive space.

Hope you understand what i mean

Many thanks!

So allow-non-emtpy is really bad to use as you over mounted onto your home drive.

The second parameter of the command is where the folder is mounted to so in your case, it got mounted to /home/judgey

You really want to create a directory somewhere and mount to that and remove the non-empty bit.

So something like mkdir /home/judgey/gdrive

and change your mount to point to that.

1 Like

thanks for the fast reply, i will take a look now thank you

I might be back tho :slight_smile:

ok that worked nicely thank you for that.

Any chance you could help me setup auto sync sorry to be a pain.

thank u

I am not sure what autosync means.

What are you trying to do? Can you walk through the steps and what you are expecting to happen?

Hey sure ill try and explain best i can.

First off i have done the mount for gdrive that works fine. Im having two problemsā€¦

First is when i use plex and pick a library it will not allow me to pick gdrive mount as a library.

Second is i can manually sync my files in home but would like rclone to do this automatically say every hour or so.

Please let me know if you want me to explain better.

Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

If you want to use plex, it runs as another user so you need to --allow-other

The rclone mount is always up to date as you are playing things directly from so there isnā€™t a ā€˜syncā€™ process.

1 Like

That works great again many thanks!!!

Hey really sorry to bother you again.