New Amazon Drive error: "connection refused"

rclone is excellent and has helped me so much, thank you.

I have been using rclone quite successfully for a few months, on 3 machines, all Macs, running various periodic backups. Total data here is about 3TB. A typical command looks something like this:

rclone --checksum sync /Users/admin acd:admin

In the last few days on all machines I’m seeing error messages that I’ve never seen before, that look like this:

2016/12/05 22:41:32 Attempt 1/3 failed with 0 errors and: error listing: amazon drive root ‘admin’: Get https://cdws.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/drive/v1/nodes?filters=parents%3A2JHZU6B4SDqLfMxtBYHPzA: dial tcp: lookup cdws.us-east-1.amazonaws.com on 192.168.0.1:53: read udp 192.168.0.104:63901->192.168.0.1:53: read: connection refused

I see that many files are being copied successfully, but I’m still getting these errors, which prevent a complete backup, with deletions.

Any suggestions for how I could troubleshoot this?

That is rclone doing a nameserver lookup to your router at 192.168.0.1. Your router is refusing the connection for some reason.

So try troubleshooting the router - reboot it maybe and see if that helps.

1 Like

Hi Nick, thank you for your reply. I’ve done more testing and I’m still puzzled. I think the problem is not rclone, but I’d still like to tell the story because I hope you might have an idea for me. Also, if this is happening here I suppose eventually this will also happen to someone else.