My second rclone project too long filenames crypt

posting to offtopic, to hear what u say. im not a pro, just a hobbyist want to fix stuff myself, because i am using rclone for everything and the too long filenames problem annoys me every day.

my solution:

• encrypted names bigger than $setting will be saved to local folder db.sha1-sum-encryptedname
  • in this file the long name will be stored
  • remote file naming 'db.sha1-sum-emcryptedname'

here is my solution what you think

I have a few thoughts and even an idea for a "name shortener" remote (but lack the golang experience. If only rclone were a python tool...)

Thoughts:

• You say it is a hashsum. A hashsum of what? The file name? or the file contents?
  • What about subdirs?
  • What happens if you write to remote: on computerA and then read on computerB? That would break a lot of workflows!

My Idea

This is just rough but one idea I had for a name-shortener remote. What it does it take every name (and part for directories) and hash them keeping the first 10 or so digits (in base32). It then writes a sidecar file with the original name.

When writing to a remote, it has to write the sidecar and the file.

When reading it has to read the sidecar. However, you can speed that up with a local database (maybe a LRU-based?) of hashes and names. This is just to speed it up. If it gets nuked, ground-truth is still on the remote.

So,

this-is-a-long-directory-name-so-deal-with-it/short/medium_dir/redicoulous-filename-with-lots-of-information-such-as-date-20211225T122500.47854778.ext

will encode to:

7revsnsh3c/ud2ou7mrjf/t4u3eolo6y/idq5svfuhi

and will create (if it doesn't exists) the following: (<filename> : <content>)

7revsnsh3c.name : this-is-a-long-directory-name-so-deal-with-it
7revsnsh3c/ud2ou7mrjf.name : short 
7revsnsh3c/ud2ou7mrjf/t4u3eolo6y.name : medium_dir
7revsnsh3c/ud2ou7mrjf/t4u3eolo6y/idq5svfuhi.name : redicoulous-filename-with-lots-of-information-such-as-date-20211225T122500.47854778.ext