Multiple interfaces with rclone? Any speed-up on just a residential wifi?

Can rclone take advantage of multiple wifi interfaces? I tried bonding on Ubuntu 20.04 without any difference from a single connection. Is the only solution to run separate rclone transfers on different interfaces?

hello and welcome to the forum,

not sure if this will help
https://rclone.org/docs/#bind-string

Thanks, I tried bonding two simple wifi adapters via Cockpit - round-robin, two adaptive load balancing algorithms... none of them made much difference, often were slower actually. I will check this link. I am trying to see if running two rclone transfers (bound to different IPs of those wifi adapters will work aka keep both 10Mbits (sad work from home reality).

EDIT: yes, this bind-string is what I'm trying at the moment. Ideally though rclone could bind two interfaces in one transfer

i am not a linux expert but round-robin does not seem the way to go.
did you try Adaptive transmit load balancing or Adaptive load balancing

we have linux experts and i am sure they will stop by soon.
and i am very curious as to what they will write.

1 Like

yes, I tried both Adaptive transmit load balancing or Adaptive load balancing, but maybe without enough determination after I saw round-robin fail - so this may be possible to aggregate multiple wifi NICs after all? That would be a huge save now!

Meanwhile I saw --bind option not working - under "Limitations" in man pages it said that "Note that --bind isn’t supported."... Transfers just defaulted to the first interface.

ok,
if you want help about --bind then you need to post the command with debug log.

where did you read that, can you post the link to it?

thanks, maybe it won't be necessary as I think I got bonding to work after all...