Lots of Small Files

A Bit Of Background

I’ve been using Dropbox happily for several years but in the last yearish the performance has made is less and less usable. I am a developer and I store all my projects within my Dropbox. This means I have a LOT of small files that must be synced (git files, small source files, etc). Once Dropbox starts to exceed 300,000 files it basically will take so long to index on boot it is unusable. Also Dropbox doesn’t really provide a filtering mechanism so things like log files are continually uploaded and indexed throughout the day even though I don’t really care about them.

Until now my workaround has been to zip old projects so that I can reduce the file count but I’m finding that to be too much of a headache so am looking for a new tool. rclone looks great as I like the encryption and the ability to choose my cloud. I don’t really care about real-time syncing so loosing that isn’t a huge deal. I am good to have a background job that runs X times per day and syncs my local system to a cloud.

My Questions

1. Does rclone have reasonable performance with hundreds of thousands of small files? I don’t have a huge amount of actual storage (my current Dropbox is 32GB and that could probably be pruned some) but I will likely always have lots of small files.
  2. Is there any specific cloud storage option that would perform best with lots of small files.
  3. What rclone options would you recommend to ensure fast backup of lots of small files.

rclone let’s you set the number of checkers and the number of transfer threads used to accommodate for lots of large files or lots of small files. For lots of small files, I think you’ll find it does reasonably well especially if you turn up the number of checkers.

Some things worth consdering: