Keeping URL on Google Drive when file is updated by rclone

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I am a novice user and trying to copy files from a Raspberry Pi to a Google Drive and generate a URL that can be shared. When I use the command:
rclone copy image.jpg gdrive:/Public2 --ignore-checksum
the image.jpg file overwrites the version in gdrive:/Public2, which is what I want to happen, but when I click on the shared URL, I get a message "Preview not available File is in owner's trash"

Is there a way to keep the URL the same when image.jpg is updated? I have a program that generates a new image.jpg every 5 minutes and don't want to keep changing the shared URL.

Or, am I using the wrong tool for this job?

Thanks.

What is your rclone version (output from rclone version)

Which OS you are using and how many bits (eg Windows 7, 64 bit)

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

Paste command here

The rclone config contents with secrets removed.

Paste config here

A log from the command with the -vv flag

Paste  log here

If you replace the file, the URL won't work anymore as that's how Google Drive works.

It would not matter which tool you used.

But if you use a web browser there is an option to upload a new version of a file as a replacement for the current one and the URL does not change. I had hoped that there was an option in rclone to do the same.

Rclone should be uploading a new version of a file

And when I did that the sharing link for the file updated showing the new version.

The important thing is that rclone says this (use the -v flag to see)

2021/04/19 22:31:35 INFO : test.txt: Copied (replaced existing)

1 Like

Sorry as I must have done something strange the first time when I tested as @ncw is correct.

felix@gemini:~$ rclone copy /etc/hosts GD: -v
2021/04/19 17:36:51 INFO  : hosts: Copied (replaced existing)
2021/04/19 17:36:51 INFO  :