Is/was a security auditing procedure in place for crypt?

Hi,

I’m in process determining how I’m going to use ACD as my backup provider, and rclone seems to be the best option. The one question I have is the crypt functionality seems to be fairly new, and I’m curious if any type of auditing or security standardization was implemented when the crypt process was developed.

I ask because as I look at encryption solutions, I see there are also potential issues with EncFS when a cloud provider has historical files and you alter one, then alter back (Reference CryFS: https://www.cryfs.org/comparison#encfs which references the security audit: https://defuse.ca/audits/encfs.htm)

I’ve always used LUKS or Truecrypt in the past, so I’m new to file-by-file encryption.

Thank you.

crypt hasn’t been audited externally. However it has received quite a bit of scrutiny from participants in the project.

I’ve written up how it works here: http://rclone.org/crypt/#file-formats

The file encryption is based on NACL secretbox which was designed by DJB one of the world’s best known cryptographers and has very strong confidentiality and integrity. The weakest part is the file name encryption which is difficult to do and still preserve properties that rclone relies on.

There is a project to implement a higher security file name encryption mode here: https://github.com/ncw/rclone/issues/637 which will tradeoff some speed and resilience for better encryption of the file names. The file data encryption won’t change though.