Is this normal? When uploading from networked drive, upload always stalls for 5 minutes before beginning

As a rsync beginner, I am not sure if this is a bug or a normal behavior of my setup.

I am doing “sync” of borgbackup repos from my Linux PC to B2 Backblaze. My internet connection speed is 50 mbps (upload and download). The source directory is a networked drive at my home, mounted as CIFS. The connection speed in my home network is 100 mbps (i.e. 2x faster than my outside connection).

When I start uploading, a few small files are always uploaded first and then rclone starts uploading big files. See the attached screenshot:

The 4 upload threads stall at zero progress, while outbound internet connection stays contant at about 0.05 mbps (i.e. almost stopped) and inbound internet connection is at 100 mbps (i.e. maximum from my local networked storage). This situation keeps constant for about 4 - 5 minutes, while all upload threads show clean zeroes. After 4-5 minutes, the upload starts at full speed (50 mbps) and finishes correctly. The delay is ALWAYS 4-5 minutes, regardless of the size of the uploaded repository (e.g. 1 GB vs 25 GB, the initial delay stays the same).

Is this normal amd caused by my source drive being on the network? Can I speed things up using some configuration options?

Thanks

How big are the files? rclone needs to calculate the sha1sum of the files before uploading them to b2 which can take a while for GB sized files.

rclone uses that sha1sum for integrity checking.

It would be possible to disable it which would mean you’d lose hashes on multipart uploaded files. S3 has a similar problem and it has the flag

--s3-disable-checksum                      Don't store MD5 checksum with object metadata

Yes, that would be it! The files are 500 MB each and those 4-5 minutes correspond exactly to the time it takes running through 4 x 500 MB (for 4 upload threads).