Is there a "skeleton" template for adding new storage providers?

Hi there :wave: Newbie dev wannabe here. Well, that's actually pretentious, I'm just a humble amateur Go programmer.

I've been using rclone for a while now, and I'm quite happy at how it keeps everything in sync with my 12 or 13 different cloud accounts :smiley:

There are only two missing :slight_smile: and since they're not directly supported... I thought I'd try to write them from scratch. They have limited usage and reduced interest (contrasting with the 'big' providers and their hundreds of millions of potential users), so probably they will never be useful for anyone, but, alas... they will be useful for me. :laughing:

The first provider is something called "MEO Cloud", which is a cloud-based file service offered by Portugal's public telecom. They do have a well-established, stable, REST-based API for accessing their services โ€” which they claim to be strongly inspired/derived from Dropbox. Thus, in theory, you should be able to use a Dropbox connector to access the service (getting the minimalist set of functionality).

Unfortunately, what the authors of this API fail to explain is that they've based their API on version one of the Dropbox API. Bummer! Naturally enough, Dropbox now uses v2, and rclone diligently supports (only) v2. No wonder I wasn't having any success trying to connect...

The second provider is Pydio Cells. Pydio, originally known as "AjaXplorer", is a Go application allowing one to run their own self-hosted "cloud" service. It exposes a S3 API, and rclone can access it, but with lots of unknown errors, which, in turn, makes any mid-sized backup a real nightmare, taking eternities to complete. The alternative is to access its native API directly and forget all about S3 and its well-known bugs...

Anyway! These are my ideas. Now to put them in practice :slight_smile: