How to move data from one iDrive e2 location / bucket to another

INTRO

I am an absolut newbie when it comes to rclone, so that's only the most basic version of it. It was of help for me though, so I put the most important things together, it might be of help to someone else, especially as iDrive e2 support is pretty much non-existent. I am using iDrive e2 as an offsite backup location for WordPress sites. Those serve as additional backups, to have independent backups from the hosting provider.

ABOUT IDRIVE E2

An iDrive e2 Storage account can have different buckets on different locations. Because of a problem I could not solve, I was forced to migrate over from iDrive e2 Frankfurt to iDrive e2 Paris. In my particular case that meant, moving over all existing backups (folders, subfolders, files) as well.

The web interface from iDrive e2 does not support copying/moving folders and files from one bucket to another bucket. You can only copy/move individual files within a bucket, therefore it's pretty much useless for what I needed.

From how I see it there are only three options to move over data from one iDrive e2 location to another iDrive e2 location:

1. Download and upload again
  2. Using a client, e.g. I used Forklift a macOS Finder replacement to connect to both iDrive locations and just drag & drop individual folders (not sure if that is actually server to server)
  3. Using rclone

OPTION 1: Download and upload again

I think that's the easiest, and most unreliable option overall. Hardly any preparation needed, but I would guess large download/upload jobs directly from the laptop/pc could be problematic

OPTION 2: Using a client like Forklift