How to do a script for QNAP NAS that would automatically mount remotes in Plex at Startup

Hello!
I have been trying for quite a few days to come up with a script that would allow to mount remotes with Rclone in Plex during QNAP NAS startup. Keep in mind that I don´t know anything about linux but I was able by copying and paste a few commands from the tutorials to finally mount remotes in Plex.

The problem is that when I restart my QNAP NAS everything is gone and I would have to setup all the remotes from scratch all the times. Is there any way that you could help me out with this please? I would need just some step by step instructions on how to accomplish this.

Thank you very much!

I'm not a qnap expert so I've made this topic public in the hope someone else can help .

Thank you nwc! I appreciate it

I know even less about QNAP, than Nick I suspect, but maybe I can help on a more general level.

QNAP is as far as I know based on Linux right? So it would be fair to assume that some of the fundamentals operate the same, albeit with some twists here and there.

Normally I think remotes in Linux are persistent right @ncw? Unlike Windows you actually have to dis-mount them to make them go away? This might be something that is different in QNAP though, and thus you might need a solution more like what I use on Windows - ie. a mount-on-boot script.That is certainly doable, and and setting it up as a service might be the remedy.

Can you elaborate on what you mean when you say "everything is gone" when you reboot?
Is rclone itself gone?
Is the rclone config-file empty?
Or do you just mean that the mount you set up is not active anymore?

If it is the last one then the solution may be relatively simple, but if it's one of the former we have to dig a bit deeper into what is going on.

as this is a linux/qnap question, perhaps you might want to post the question to the qnap forum.

https://wiki.qnap.com/wiki/Running_Your_Own_Application_at_Startup

Hey thestigma!