How to backup an offsite server?

I’m new to Rclone, so please be gentle. I don’t have the programming background that many here seem to possess.

I’m using Rclone, Rclone Browser and Backblaze B2, primarily to backup/sync my Ubuntu desktop–so far about 2TB. I do have some problems with all that, but I’ll save those for another day. Backblaze support is not as helpful as I had hoped.

My immediate issue is the need to backup our offsite server (running Debian Jessie) used to run a number of web sites. I do have familiarity with Rsync as previously we used that to backup the server to drives on my desktop. But that has had intermittent hiccups and it’s time to join the cloud world.

I gather with an offsite server, I’ll need to run Rclone as CLI, not with the browser. That’s OK as I presume I’ll need to set up cron jobs to have it run in the background. I would write up some crontabs that sequentially invoked Rsync for various directories on the system (and some needed tarring beforehand). It seemed presumptuous to hope to find that one command that would backup an entire drive or entire system.

So I looked around here and so far I haven’t seen any discussion or tutorial on how to run Rclone on a remote server. I would appreciate any links to any such discussions if they exist. Absent that, I’d appreciate any suggested rclone commands (and especially examples) to get this underway.

Yes that is correct

You can use one rclone command to back lots of things up. I’d use the –include-from flag (or maybe the –filter-from flag to set up a list of things you want in and out of the backup, then run rclone from the root of the file system.

So

rclone sync --include-from backup-dirs / remote:backup

For backups, also check out the –backup-dir flag

Probably the most complicated part is the initial setup of the config file. The easiest way is to set up the config file on your local computer then find it with rclone config file and copy it to the remote server.