How do you automate the rclone build process

Hello all

I have been interested in rclone for a while, and have been developing small apps in Go because I hope to one day add a feature or contribute to the source code of rclone. I have a good understanding of Go but still need to work on a few projects to expand my skillset. Go is not my first language.

I was wondering how you get so many binary builds for rclone; would love to replicate this for my projects. I was thinking about using docker (I love docker) or distrobox (not use yet) to set up a build environment via script because if I change the Go environment, to say Fedora or Windows, it does not build (cannot remember error off top of my head). Therefore I am stuck with a binary built for my system - I can also create deb files; I am using Ubuntu.

I am not a software developer by trade -- it's a hobby. So hope this isn't too obvious!

Thank you.

It is not too obvious, no! :slight_smile:

But the short answer is GitHub Actions. To do multiple builds like this, the matrix feature comes in handy.

You can dive into the full details of rclone's setup in .github/workflows/build.yml, which utilizes a Makefile and some other utilities.

For a regular developer, however, this is out of scope. Simple "go build" commands normally suffices. Using VSCode with Go extension is the definitive go-to developer setup in my opinion.

1 Like

This works beautifully for me (from the project root dir):

make compile_all
2 Likes

Ah, right, forgot about that one (I rarely use make). That seems like the spot on one-liner answer. :1st_place_medal:

2 Likes

Thanks. I will look into the build config. I may have to spend a little time learning GitHub Actions. I am already using GitHub for my projects so shouldn't be too complex to learn.

I am using VSCode too, so I will look at the Go extension too.

Cool. I thought this was just for the C programming language. I will read about this further.

Thanks