Google photos API

I think Google photos announced an API… That would be a useful endpoint… Wink wink

2 Likes

Here is a link to an article for those that are interested.

Oh my god, please! I have been waiting for an official API for a while. This is the only reason I have Backup and Sync installed. If rclone could replace it, that would be a godsend.

OH MY. This is the BEST NEWS. I have been using the stupid Picasa Web Albums API daily for like 5 years.

(If you’re curious why, it’s for this: https://github.com/mholt/photobak - a little program I wrote that downloads your Google Photos.)

There is an issue about this: https://github.com/ncw/rclone/issues/369

If anyone would like to add useful links to that I’d be grateful!

Nice!

I make my google photos appear in my drive which you only have to do once then I use rclone to back them up.

1 Like

The docs can be found here.

But I think this way photos will use the Gdrive space, right? I think it would have to be through the API to enjoy unlimited space.

1 Like

Yep. And I’ve also experienced some weirdness when I enable Photos in my Drive; so I just decided to turn it off.

I only ever read from the google photos and it has worked fine for that. I haven’t tried uploading photos though…

Very good news, not a minute too soon - Google Photo Uploader dies on the 14th!

I’ve used gphotosuploader with success, but that’s pretty rough.

I’ve tried that, but Google won’t put them all in that folder on my main account, on smaller accounts it works fine and puts them all in Year folders but my main one only has 160 photos out of 1000’s and they are all in the root Photos folder.

I’ve also looked through the new Google Photos API docs and it doesn’t look promising, I can’t find an option to retrieve the original photo. I think this new API isn’t really geared around backup and restore.