Google Drive vs Google Cloud Storage

Hello,
I'm trying to use Google Drive to backup a FreeNAS device. FreeNAS uses rclone for this, so I decided to come here for help, coming to the horse's mouth so to speak.

AFAIK, instructions for setting up rclone w/ GD requires obtaining a token. E.g., see this blog post for an example. But if you look further on in this example, " Use case - Google Apps/G-suite account and individual Drive," it calls for using the Google Developer Console to create a project, and projects on the GDC are NOT standard GD features. Instead, they are associated with Google Cloud Storage. Especially on a Google for Education site, which is based on G-Suite, one frequently finds GCS features to be disabled. So one can't create projects.

I installed rclone on my Mac and, in the shell, tried setting up a remote to my GD using "rclone config," as shown on the example page. It didn't work, and I suspect the GD-GCS overlap is why.

I'm new to rclone, GCS, and GD/GCS returning tokens. So maybe I'm misunderstanding this.

But if not, is there any way to configure rclone to use GD without using the Developer Console and GCS services, like projects?

If you configure rclone, by default it doesn't need a project.

You are still using a project though, one owned by rclone which can sometimes be oversubscribed and a bit slow.

Did you leave client_id and client_secret blank? That should have worked I would have thought.

Thanks for the reply, ncw. I think I did, but I'll try again. This time, I'll be as plain vanilla as possible.

But before I do, I have one additional question. Is the token returned by the "rclone config" procedure reusable? In other words, can I copy and paste it elsewhere, where a similar token is used? Even on a different computer?