Google Cloud VM, cheapest configuration

My scenario has about 25TB of unencrypted data on a Google Drive, that needs to be copied to a crypt based Google Drive remote.

Most are large files (> 100 MB), so I'm not expecting to be hitting API requests limits, but only the daily 750GB limit.

Since I have no experience with Google's cloud platform, I'm throwing this out there for suggestions on what would be the cheapest VM configuration to achieve that.

Maybe a fast VM that would reach the 750GB limit in one hour (and then shuts off for the day if that can be automated) comes out cheaper than a slow, memory-starved configuration that runs 24/7.

Has anybody researched this?

Well after a quick test, tt seems that the absolute cheapest is lterally free.
An f1-micro instance (free-tier, forever supposedly) is only 0.2 vCPU and 0.6GB RAM.
I launched a debian 9 instance, and managed about 78MB/sec on default rclone settings.

2 Likes

This is interesting. Do I understand correctly that you would need to download your data from your unencrypted "Google Drive" to a "Google Cloud Storage" that is connected to your VM instance, and then upload from "Google Cloud Storage" back to encrypted remote on Google Drive? Or, are you able to move directly from unencrypted folder to encrypted folder on Google Drive without the need for "Google Cloud Storage"?

I am also wondering what egress charges apply in either case.

No I don't use Google Cloud Storage. I just selected the default 10 GB for the VM system disk (reported as Standard persistent disk) for the OS installation. No either storage is attached/mounted to the VM.
I rclone copy from remote (unencrypted) to remote (encrypted)
From what the documentation states, there is no ingress/egress charges in this case (drive <--> compute).