Getting banned from GDrive for the initial scan in Plex

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I'm getting banned from GDrive for the initial scan in Plex. I've been running the same command for a couple years and all was well until I moved to a new server and tried to use the same rclone command. It seems to be having trouble with scanning my library. Google is reporting 403's as a result of the ban.

How's my command? What should I tweak here to avoid getting banned? I have about 500gigs free and a library of roughly 150TB of data on GDrive with about 5-10 streams happening at once at any given time.

I did make sure things like thumbnail, analyze, intro detection, etc are all off on Plex.

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

rclone v1.58.1

• os/version: ubuntu 22.04 (64 bit)
  • os/kernel: 5.15.0-30-generic (x86_64)
  • os/type: linux
  • os/arch: amd64
  • go/version: go1.17.9
  • go/linking: static
  • go/tags: none

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

Google Drive

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

Here's my rclone service.

ExecStart=/usr/bin/rclone mount \
        --config=/.config/rclone/rclone.conf \
        --allow-other \
        --buffer-size 256M \
        --dir-cache-time 96h \
        --drive-chunk-size 128M \
        --log-level INFO \
        --log-file /logs/rclone.log \
        --umask 002 \
        --vfs-read-chunk-size 128M \
        --vfs-read-chunk-size-limit off \
        gdrive: /mnt

The rclone config contents with secrets removed.

[gdrive]
type = drive
client_id = removed
client_secret = removed
scope = drive.readonly
token

logs

Just a bunch of

downloadQuotaExceeded

hi,

i would mimic these settings
https://github.com/animosity22/homescripts/blob/master/systemd/rclone-drive.service

and do you run rclone vfs/refresh before running the plex scan?

1 Like