GDrive vs Crypt Troubles

Hi,

I have rclone installed on my Unraid server and I've created two remotes:

google = Google Drive
secure = Crypt Google Drive

I've had success copying files from my server to the google remote, but I'm totally stumped trying to copy to the secure one

I've tested both of the following commands...

rclone --verbose copy "/mnt/user/Arcade" secure/"Arcade"
rclone --verbose copy "/mnt/user/Arcade" google:secure/"Arcade"

When I view the remotes via Krusader, I can see that the files are being created within google/secure/encryptedfilenames

However, when I click directly on the secure remote, it is empty. I'm totally confused, clearly... any help would be greatly appreciated

(I'm a newb, so please let me know if I am not explaining this clearly)

It sounds like you are just just copying unencrypted files to a folder that you are looking at through a crypt remote.

In that case, rclone will try to decrypt files that aren't encrypted in the first place. This will fail miserably of course, and rclone will not even try to show you the garbled data - and will instead omit these files. If you check your log it will no doubt be full of errors indicating this. ERROR - could not decrypt blah blah, invalid base32 at byte something something...

Solution: copy the files to a crypt remote that points to the encrypted folder. Then the files be encrypted when they are copied - and they will be viewable since they then don't fail to de-encrypt. If you need help on how to set up the crypt remote, just let me know.

Today's lesson - always keep your encrypted and unencrypted files in separate folders :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for the thorough reply. I'm still a bit confused, as I acclimate to the rclone language. If you'd elaborate with some instructions, is really appreciate it.

My goal is an unencrypted gdrive remote and an encrypted one. nothing more