Gdrive access via service account

Hi,

I just configured rclone for gdrive access.
I have a GSuite account and I need unattended access from a build script (I am a developer).

I configured everything by following the docs - https://rclone.org/drive/
I created a service account, I downloaded the json key, enabled the client via gcloud admin interface.
I created a folder under My Drive and I specified that id as root folder id.

I added some files to that folder and tried to run rclone ls.
Nothing.
No contents. No errors in the logs, even when using -vv.

I removed my root folder id and, rclone added one in my rclone.conf
This one was.... somehow working.
I added files via rclone/cli, and they were stored by rclone.
However, I could not find them in my gdrive web interface.

At this point, I was desperate

• My folder was not working.
  • And the one that was "working"...well, I have no idea where it stored its files.

I solved my problem and I was able to use my own root folder
as soon as... I {shared} that root folder
with the username of the new service account that I created

However, this {sharing} step is not documented on the rclone-gdrive page.
Maybe it's obvious for other people, it wasn't for me.

First, please confirm that this is required, that this step is indeed necessary.
And if it is, please update the docs. I can create myself a PR if someone guides me to find the specific doc file in your repo.

Thanks a lot
Chris

You are correct -- would be a good idea if the doc described your method.

When you ran rclone ls did you include --drive-impersonate foo@example.com ? The doc mentions that this is what does the magic, pretending to be user foo. In your case user foo would be your own username that has access to the TDs.

What you did is a (quite useful) variation that eliminates the need for using --drive-impersonate. You can add each unique SA email to the TDs you want to use with the SAs.