Faster, non-cryptographic hashing algorithm for faster file comparison

MD5 and SHA-1 were designed to be cryptographically secure hashing algorithms. While fairly fast for small files, comparing large numbers of large files can become prohibitively slow, which is what leads me to request an implementation of a faster, non-cryptographic hash algorithm meant for file comparison. The fastest I've found is xxHash3.

Considering that the collision risk of xxHash3 is acceptably low even in combinatorial situations (where each hash is compared to all other hashes), the risk of collision in a one-to-one scenario such as file comparison should be negligible (~3.14 collisions per billion comparisons).

I'm not a programmer so I'm not sure how difficult it would be to include in rclone, but the github page seems well-maintained and the developer seems to be actively supporting it, so that seems to be a good sign.

Please let me know what you think.

Rclone matches the hashes it uses with the hashes the cloud provider uses.

Compared to transferring stuff over the network MD5 is very quick.

Unfortunately I don't think there are any cloud providers which use xxHash3

It could be used for local -> local transfers - rclone will use MD5 by default.

if you want xxhash3 for local, i have been using this for many years.

What about with rclone check --download or rclone move -c from a service that doesn't include hashing? Those are two cases where the file would have to be hashed on both ends

Thanks! Maybe I can mount my drive and the use this.

not sure what you are trying to accomplish, what is your use case?

what service are you using that does not support checksums?

I'm downloading/syncing files from Mega

rclone check --download should work.

so mega does not perform a checksum and/or save a checksum as metadata on upload?
for each upload, you are forced to re-download all the data to perform a checksum?