Failed to create file system for "s3:bucket": didn't find section in config file

I am new to rclone. I followed the instructions from the rclone official website.

I need to use rclone to backup files to cloud storage (AWS S3). I configured my S3 backend in rclone config file.

When I run rclone copy command, it gives me error:

Error: Failed to create file system for "s3:bucket": didn't find section in config file

Not sure why this error occurs. Am I missing something in the config file??

hello and welcome to the forum,

when you first posted there was a template of questions.
help us to help you and post all the answers.

Hi Lakshay,

You probably called your remote something else than s3 and it therefore cannot be found in your config file. Try rclone listremotes to find the right name and rclone config show to see how you configured it.

You may also want to try rclone version to check you have the latest version from https://rclone.org/downloads/

If this doesn't help then please post the result from all the above commands together with the debug output from the command you are trying, which I guess is something like

rclone copy /some/folder s3:somebucket/some/folder -vv

Hi Ole,
I configured my remote name as "laksh". Below is the output:
Command: rclone listremotes
Output: laksh:

Command: rclone config show
Output:
[laksh]
type = s3
provider = AWS
access_key_id = xxxxxxxxx
secret_access_key = xxxxxxx
region = us-east-2
location_constraint = us-east-2
acl = public-read

However, I just used my remote name instead of s3 (which was my mistake) and rclone started uploading the source files to S3. Not sure how much time it takes since it is already more than 5 minutes and it is just stuck. :frowning:

Thank you so much for your help!!

I am now wondering can we use rclone to backup our linux machines and upload the backup to S3. Is it possible with rclone???

1 Like

yes, i use rclone for that.
recent backups goto wasabi.
older backups goto aws deep glacier.