Encryption and file size

Hello,
I would like to ask you to consider file size obfuscation as a feature of the encryption options that rclone already offers.
I think it is a very important feature because from the size of specific files it could be easier to break the other encryption features.
Thanks for your incredible work.

1 Like

Hi n3urale,

I am not a crypto expert, but I do know that it is very difficult to implement secure encryption correct. It just takes a small unnoticeable mistake to make it relatively easy to break for somebody with the will and resources.

I therefore don’t think that file size obfuscation will make it harder to break, it may instead increase complexity and thereby introduce an implementation bug that will make it easier to break.

To me, the rclone encryption is a quick and simple privacy protection from the prying eyes of some storage providers and the average hacker. I would not rely on rclone encryption if access to the content was attractive to somebody determined and resourceful.

There could off course be situations where you consider the size of your files a privacy issue. If this is your situation then I guess you can combine encryption with the chunker remote (Note it is beta).

Hi, thanks for your reply.
I am pretty sure that crypto is hard to implement flawlessly and so the simpler are the features the easier is the implementation, but I think that
1 a public cloud provider can easily find a set of files, between all those that are saved in its systems by different users, that have exactly the same size
2 given an encrypted file with a known size, getting the unecrypted version shared by someone else using the size as a clue can greatly increase the chance to match a crypted file with an unecrypted file.
From this to rebuild the secret keys that will allow the cloud provider to open all the encrypted files i think the step is short. I hope that someone can negate this statement.