Encrypt existing files / plexdrive & crypt question?

Hello,

I’m just learning about rclyne (tried to read a lot) and I have some questions. I’m on a ubuntu server.

1. I have a google drive with 4TB files. Is there a way to encrypt the files without having to download/upload them again?
  2. https://github.com/dweidenfeld/plexdrive/blob/master/TUTORIAL.md => This gives me reading rights with plexdrive. Will I need a different mount to upload the files to the google drive since plex drive cannot write? Or can I use the rclone mount that is setup with the howto?

Thank you everybody for helping a starter in linux!

Soul

You have to download and upload to encrypt it. One tip is to use Google Compute, they have a $300 free trial. Since its only 4TB you dont need to cap the speed and it should be done in 1-2 hours.

2: Yes you need something in addition to plexdrive for uploades. rclone copy, move or mount. For more advanced users you can also create a union fuse with a read-only plexdrive mount and a rclone mount for a seamless single mount.

Ok, so I used the https://www.andyibanez.com/rclone-encryption-tutorial/ to learn a bit about rclone. I premuse I now have to do the following steps:

1. google compute
  2. install rclone -> How can I install rclone?
  3. download all the files to the google VPS (?)
  4. rclone crypt files back to my own gdrive and I’m good to go?

If this is ok, then I would need a sort of script for rclone for sickrage .& couchpotato but I’ll try google first :).

2: Just follow the normal rclone install instructions
3-4: You can copy between the two on the fly.

Ok, I think i got it. But now I’m reading about EncFS and that it is faster. I’m currently at a VPS with 4vcores. What should I do? Use rclone with crypt or try my luck at EncFS?

I have to admit, at first glance EnCFS looks like it’s a lot more difficult?