Copy from one rclone remote to another

Good morning from England. I am a newbie so please be gentle.

I am running rclone on my linux laptop (kubuntu). I have three remotes set up in rclone: onedrive, google drive and dropbox.

I would like to copy some folders from googledrive to onedrive. Can I do this with rclone? If so, then how do I do it?

Many thanks for a great programme.

Bob

1 Like

You can use rclone copy:

https://rclone.org/commands/rclone_copy/

rclone copy onedrive:somefolder googledrive:

Thanks. But forgive me I am new to both linux and rclone.

I just tried this with a folder containing a small file (took a long time) but it didn’t work. I must be being stupid.

I want to copy from googledrive to onedrive. I have more than one googledrive account. So they are named differently. The googledrive concerned (the one on my rclone , is called bobgoogle. I have a folder in there with my daughter’s wedding photos. I want to copy them to onedrive (I have 100GB). The folder on ‘bobgoogle’ is called ‘weddingphotos’.

Do I do the following:

1 open ‘konsole’ terminal
2 just type: 'rclone copy bobgoogle:weddingphotos onedrive:

Do I need sudo-apt or anything like that?
Also does the copy process create the new folder called ‘weddingphotos’ onto onedrive? Or must I create it first?
Finally is the ‘path’ correct. Or do I need to use ‘:/’

I am not particularly computer literate and I found the documentation difficult to understand and ambiguous. It would be helpful if it contained a simple example of the type I am having problems with. Copying a folder from one drive to another.

Many thanks again for your kind help

Bob

rclone is a bit tough as it’s a command line tool with a lot of options and quite a lot of power to it.

The first part is you need to create your own client ID/API Key for Google.

https://rclone.org/drive/#making-your-own-client-id

and re-enter your information in rclone config with the new information.