Configurable Local ModTime Allowable Discrepancy

Posting this as a followup request for the tail end of Getting a lot of "can't copy - source file is being updated" - #13 by ncw. I'm not certain if an issue was ever created on GitHub for it by DanG. I was not able to search and find it. Unless I'm looking in the wrong place, the source still only !oldtime.Equal(fi.ModTime())

I'm coming across ephemeral errors of modified source files during sync jobs:

Failed to copy: can't copy - source file is being updated (mod time changed from 2021-12-01 03:04:11.4318679 -0800 PST to 2021-12-01 03:04:11.4388747 -0800 PST)

The source filesystem is a Windows network share over a NTFS direct mounted drive. The discrepancy is 7ms which is surprising, but I'm far from an expert in how Windows is handing network shares.

I'd like to avoid using --local-no-check-updated as I think that could mask real issues. The sync is of snapshot data, so there shouldn't be any modification.

In the original thread, DanG's suggestion was to have a configurable level of tolerance in the modtimes. An alternative solution would be to provide a tolerance in the "freshness" of the file.

Original Suggestion:
oldtime = newtime +- tolerance

Alternative Suggestion:
newtime = now\checktime +- tolerance

Where newtime is fi.ModTime()

My rationale for the alternative suggestion is that I don't care if the file suddenly looks like it was modified way in the past. Only if the modtime is recent would there be a suggestion of write activity.

I'm happy with either.

Check out the --modify-window flag.

Correct me if I'm wrong Nick, but I thought that flag controlled comparison of modtimes between source and destination. What I'm encountering is a fluctuation of the modtime of the source.

Oh, I see what you mean! Sorry it was too late when I answered your question last night :slight_smile: