Can you upload to an rclone mount without caching?

Hi everyone. I'm new to rclone and I tired to mount a gdrive with the following command: rclone mount gdrive: z: --vfs-cache-mode off , so as to avoid writing to disk before uploading and unnecessarily wearing out my disk. However, I cannot get rclone to work with this flag at all as it refuses to upload anything and displays the following error: WriteFileHandle: Truncate: Can't change size without --vfs-cache-mode >= writes. Therefore, it seems to require --vfs-cache-mode writes...

Is it possible to upload to an rclone mount without caching?

I'm on Windows 7 x64 and I tested the above on the latest versions of rclone (both beta and stable).

Thanks for your time and help.

hello and welcome to the forum.

normally, you do not need to use vfs for simple file copying.
and even if you need to use --vfs-cache-mode=writes, will not be wearing out your disk. the amount of data is almost nothing. just think about how much data is being written to your drive from the windows operating system writing to pagefile, virus scans and so on.

how are you uploading the files, windows explorer, or what?

are you sure the files are not being uploaded correctly?

rclone mount on windows is painfully slow, is there a reason you must use rclone mount, instead of rclone copy

for example, i created 50 files of size 1.0MB of random data.
using double commander, i copied those files from local to a rclone mounted drive x:
and then i did a checksum comparison on those files.

then i used the backup software, secondcopy, to copy those same files to another location on the x:
and secondcopy does checksums and again, no errors at all in the second copy logs.

1 Like

@asdffdsa Thanks for an ultra-fast and helpful reply.

I might not understand how cache works. For example, if you were to upload 2TB from D-drive to the cloud with cache enabled, wouldn't that 2TB of data be cached/written on C-drive (default cache location) in the process?