Can rclone ignore a local hidden file in a folder?

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

I'd really like to be able to use Dolphin (file manager) to change the icon of a folder to the cloud service symbol, however, by doing so it creates a .directory file in the folder. When I use --allow-non-empty it simply uploads the hidden folder, removing the icon.

Run the command 'rclone version' and share the full output of the command.

There is no specific reason I'm using the dev version, I thought rclone was unable to mount a folder with an icon because it wasn't the git version (I'm new to linux) but learned of the hidden folder added. Also worth noting I'm running KDE Plasma DE.

rclone v1.59.0-DEV
- os/version: arch 21.2.6 (64 bit)
- os/kernel: 5.15.32-1-MANJARO (x86_64)
- os/type: linux
- os/arch: amd64
- go/version: go1.18
- go/linking: dynamic
- go/tags: none

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

Google Drive and One Drive

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

I run this on startup login

rclone mount --daemon gdrive: /home/user/gdrive
rclone mount --daemon oneDrive: /home/user/oneDrive

Allow non empty lets you overmount and hide things. It doesn't upload anything. I would not use it.

I've never used a GUI on Linux so not sure what happens as you'd need to make a log file of the behavior by doing --log-file /tmp/rclone.log -vv on the end of your command.

Alright, so I made a folder named "test" with the google drive icon. It's got the .directory file in there, and I ran this command:
rclone mount --daemon --allow-non-empty gdrive: /home/user/test --log-file /tmp/rclone.log -vv

I censored my name and 2 keys, but the output gave me this:

2022/05/09 19:25:11 DEBUG : rclone: Version "v1.59.0-DEV" starting with parameters ["rclone" "mount" "--daemon" "--allow-non-empty" "gdrive:" "/home/user/test" "--log-file" "/tmp/rclone.log" "-vv"]