Can all command line options be in rclone.conf file?

In particular, can we specify fast-list = true and transfers = 32 in rclone.conf file for B2 storage? If, yes, not sure how to map them to the config file, e.g. for crypt remote command line flag --crypt-directory-name-encryption appears in the config file as directory_name_encryption

I’m using rclone as a backend for restic (I’m very new to both of them) and not sure how to pass options from restic to rclone otherwise, I figured the config file would be the way.

Yep. It’s written up here.

https://rclone.org/docs/#environment-variables

Helpful but doesn’t quite answer my question. I’m interested in what goes in the config file, not env variables, e.g. is it fast-list or fast_list in the config file?

I do not know what the problem is, I found that the rclone configuration file does not have those parameters by default. You can type that code and remember to mask the important tokens.

--fast-list                                  Use recursive list if available. Uses more memory but fewer transactions.

I don’t see fast-list as being able to go into the config file so you’d need to use an environment variable.

What about transfers? How do we know what can and what cannot go in the config file? This is confusing, command line flags, env variables, config file, …

I do believe that one looks to be there:

RCLONE_CONFIG_MYREMOTE_TRANSFERS=8

With switching out your remote name.

I think the goal was to get them all in the config, but not sure that has completed yet.

I personally like the environment variables better, but see the need for having it all in a config file.

But again the question is can transfers go in the config file? How can one tell whether it does anything once in there? Looks like I can put anything in the config file and it may work or may get ignored.