Best practices for Mounting GameServer cache files to save space

What is the problem you are having with rclone?

No problem with Rclone itself, it does its job well. I am just wondering if there are any improvements I may have overlooked, as I'm still fairly new to using it.

My game server uses a ton of large custom maps from the Steam Workshop, the thing is we only play a single map at a time, but like having a large variety. That results in the cache folder with all of those maps that the server has downloaded from the workshop ballooning up to 3x the size of the core server files themselves. The group realizes that some added loading time is unavoidable, and are fine with that, I'm just hoping for maybe some tips on how to cut that down. (The reason it's necessary in the first place, is to fit our server onto a new performance VPS that we would not be able to utilize otherwise, and the community decided that lower latency, and the overall increase in performance during games was worth the additional loading time.)

What is your rclone version (output from rclone version)

v1.57.0 (Latest at the time of writing)

Which cloud storage system are you using? (eg Google Drive)

Wasabi S3 compatible bucket. uc-central-1

The command you were trying to run (eg rclone copy /tmp remote:tmp)

I should add that I have /mount/ Symlinked to the Cache directory the server downloads it's maps to

rclone mount --allow-other --vfs-cache-mode writes wasabi:/bucketname/Cache /home/user/mount &

The rclone config contents with secrets removed.

[wasabi]
type = s3
provider = Wasabi
access_key_id = ################
secret_access_key = #######################
region = us-central-1
endpoint = s3.us-central-1.wasabisys.com
location_constraint = s3.us-central-1.wasabisys.com
acl = private

Thank you in advance for any advice or wisdom the community may impart!!

If you simply want to reduce the size of your cache you can use the vfs-cache-max-size flag.

hello and welcome to the forum,